Tuesday, October 05, 2010

Church of England announces Code of Practice working group

by Jenna Lyle
Tuesday, October 5, 2010

The Church of England has announced the members of a working group tasked with advising bishops on the preparation of a draft statutory code of practice for opponents of women bishops.

The Bishop of St Edmundsbury and Ipswich, the Rt Rev Nigel Stock, has been appointed Chair of the group.

The other six members are: the Bishop of Coventry, the Rt Rev Dr Christopher Cocksworth; the Bishop of Whitby, the Rt Rev Dr Martin Warner; Dame Averil Cameron, retired Warden of Keble College, Oxford, and former chair of Cathedral Fabrics Commission; the Venerable Christine Hardman, Archdeacon of Lewisham and Greenwich; the Reverend Angus MacLeay, Vicar of St Nicholas Sevenoaks; the Venerable Jane Sinclair, Archdeacon of Stow and Lindsey; and Mrs Caroline Spencer, Chair Canterbury Diocese House of Laity.

The group is to conclude its report for the House of Bishops by autumn 2011, before a draft of the code comes before Synod in February 2012. the rest


Post a Comment

<< Home